Scan bran challenge day 1

2 Oct

Having been a Slimming World member for some time now, I was aware that scan bran was a thing. But for the most part, I was fairly certain that it was an unsavoury thing that best be kept at a distance.

For those who don’t know what scan bran is, it’s a type of Scandinavian crisp bread. It’s basically pure bran, pressed into little cracker-shapes and it looks a lot like cardboard. In fact, on its own, it tastes like cardboard too.

scan-bran-pack

But, it’s extremely high in fibre – meaning it’s good for you, very filling and can do interesting things to your digestion too. It comes in packs of ten, and five of the biscuits count as a Healthy Extra B. You can buy it from your group or at Holland and Barret shops.

While my feelings about scan bran haven’t changed entirely, it’s starting to grow on me – and my biggest change of heart came last week when my consultant brought in a batch of scan bran cake for us to try.

The cake was delicious – moist, sweet and had a lovely texture. It certainly didn’t taste like diet food! Along with the cake samples, she had also brought in copies of the 12 Week Weight Loss Challenge. I think this is probably something that most consultants hand ’round this time of year.

image-3453253733

As you can see, week two is the Scan Bran Challenge: eating five of the biscuits every day for a week – along with five glasses of water so that you don’t start experiencing digestive complications (remember, it’s REALLY high in fibre).

I decided to give this a go, and since week one was simple – read all my books – I had a week to work up the courage to do the scan bran thing. Over the weekend, I tried to make scan bran cake for myself, with disastrous results. Hubby said the finished product looked like the mutant offspring of Wheetabix and Shredded Wheat. I still don’t know what went wrong, but I did some research online, and the second batch turned out okay – but still not as good as what my consultant made.

Anyway, with one mostly-success under my belt, I decided to take on the challenge properly. I stocked up on scan brans last night at group and began today.

One thing I quickly learned about scan bran is that the best way to deal with it is to pulverise it into a fine powder. My coffee grinder works really well for this, but I’m sure a food processor would work too.

Breakfast was fairly simple. And while it wasn’t nice to look at, it tasted pretty good.

scan-bran-day-1-1

It’s two scan bran biscuits blitzed in the coffee grinder with a pinch of cinnamon. Then it was mixed with a vanilla yoghurt and a banana. Eating this took me about an hour – it’s hard to get through quickly. Towards the end, it started getting a bit warm and unpleasant, so I mixed in some frozen blueberries. That really perked it up and I was able to finish it all.

After two rounds of scan bran cake during previous days, as well as the sweet scan bran breakfast, I was ready to try something savoury. So I opted for scan bran onion bhajis at lunchtime.

scan-bran-day-1

These were absolutely delicious – moist, spicy and a great texture. Plus, I didn’t even notice that I was eating scan bran at all! I also treated myself to a few syns, and dipped them in mayonaise – they were really fab.

Here’s the recipe – I found it on this thread on the Minimins forum.

Ingredients

  • 5 scan bran
  • 1/3 cup of hot water
  • Large onion, chopped
  • Large potato, grated
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 3 tbsp curry powder (adjust to  taste)
  • 1tsp turmeric
  • Seasoning
  • Frylight

Instructions

  • Crumble scan bran into breadcrumb consistency, add water and soak for 10 mins, then add beaten egg.
  • Fry  the onion, potato and garlic until softened then mix well with the scan bran and spices
  • Form the mixture into bhaji shapes and place on a non-stick baking tray. Spray generously with Frylight and bake in preheated oven at 225*C for 20-25 minutes, or until brown and crispy.

——

Scan bran challenge day 2

Scan bran challenge day 3

Scan bran challenge day 4

 

4 Responses to “Scan bran challenge day 1”

  1. Stella Brackenbury August 14, 2016 at 7:20 am #

    Unlike most people I like the scan bran it’s very like all bran . I’m giving it a try

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Scan bran challenge day 2 | 100 to lose - October 3, 2013

    […] Read about my first day of the Scan Bran Challenge […]

  2. Scan bran challenge day 3 | 100 to lose - October 8, 2013

    […] Scan bran challenge day 1 […]

  3. Scan bran challenge day 4 | 100 to lose - October 8, 2013

    […] Scan bran challenge day 1 […]

Leave a Reply

