Six-ingredient spaghetti

1 Mar

So, I love spaghetti with a rich tomatoey sauce. It’s such a comfort food for me, and it’s so easy to make.

six-ingredient spaghetti

Wait, no. It’s easy to make if you don’t mind a few syns creeping in. Boil the pasta, pour in the jar of sauce. Voila! Dinner is served.

But, if you’re on Slimming World and are trying to cut back on those syns, then the sauce in a jar is out. And while making fresh, syn-free sauce is pretty simple, it’s still time-consuming.

(Yes, I know I could, in theory, make up a big batch and freeze it. But my freezer is tiny and already packed).

Recently, however, I discovered that the tinned tomatoes with herbs – which are available in most supermarkets – are free. And delicious. In fact, they’re so good, they could probably be used as a sauce on their own, just with the addition of a bit of salt. But I’m not that lazy (yet) – so I do a little bit to jazz up my sauce a the pasta is cooking.

The end result, is really tasty, if I do say so myself. In fact, I think it tastes pretty similar to the pre-made stuff. What’s more, since it takes just six ingredients, it’s a cheap and easy meal that I pretty much always have the supplies for – perfect for when I’m not feeling very organised. (Which is fairly regularly!)
six-ingredient spaghetti

Six-ingredient spaghetti

Makes enough for 1-2 servings, depending on how saucy you like your spaghetti; free on Extra Easy

Ingredients

  • Dried spaghetti
  • 1 container finely chopped tomatoes with herbs
  • 1/2 stockpot
  • Garlic granules to taste
  • Black pepper to taste
  • Olive-oil flavour Frylight

Start by cooking the spaghetti as normal.

While the pasta is boiling combine the tomatoes, stockpot, garlic granules and black pepper. Allow them to simmer lightly.

When the pasta is done cooking, drain it and give it a couple of sprays with the Frylight. Pour over the sauce, and you’re done.

Variations:

I sometimes like to add a few chilli flakes to the sauce as it cooks, or if I’m looking for something a bit creamy or cheesy, I’ll add a few spoonfuls of Quark to the sauce. I’m sure it would also be delicious with other additions, like extra lean ground mince, veggie sausages, chunky onions, peppers or mushrooms – but that would mean chopping, and when I’m in the mood for spaghetti, I don’t want to deal with any of that. 🙂

 

What’s your favourite low-syn/easy/basic comfort food? How do you keep the syns down when making dinner just seems like too much hassle? Leave a comment and let me know!

Leave a Reply

