I love diet food! Spicy chicken with fried rice

27 Feb

As of January, I started working from home permanently. While it has taken me a couple of months to get myself into a groove with this new way of life, I think I’m finally getting the hang of it, but there are a few things I have yet to deal with.

Yesterday for example, I finally realised I should move my danger foods to the top shelf of the cupboard (peanut butter, Nutella, hot chocolate mix, etc) so that I have to use the stepladder if I start craving them – yes, I’m so lazy that the hassle of the stepladder is generally enough to deter me.

Anyway, I’m also starting to figure out this eating-in-the-middle-of-the-day thing again. When I used to spend my day in the office, lunchtime couldn’t come fast enough. By 11am, I’d be thinking about food, and by 12, I’d deciding on what to have, if I hadn’t brought something in. When 1pm finally came ’round, I’d be off to the Tesco Express or the coffee room fridge like a light.

But now that I’m working from home, time seems to pass a lot faster, and it’s often 2pm before I realise what time it is, and by then it usually seems to late to have a proper lunch – and this, causes me to start snacking in the middle of the afternoon. This week, however, I’ve noticed that I’m starting to build a routine up and I’ve actually felt hungry around lunch time.

And today’s lunch was AMAZING. Spicy chicken with egg-fried rice and kale. This has seriously become my new favourite SW meal.

Spicy chicken, fried rice and kale

Spicy Chicken Thighs

(Free on EE)

The recipe for the chicken is actually inspired by the Spicy Chicken Drumsticks from the Takeaway Faves book that came with a magazine sometime last year. But here’s the thing: I hate de-skinning meat. I’m not patient with it, I don’t do a good job and it takes forever.

So I’ve switched to using thigh fillets instead. No more skin to worry about, and plenty of tender delicious meat!

The hardest part of making this is dealing with the incredibly enticing smell as it cooks.

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp smoked paprika
  • 2 tbsp garlic solt
  • 2 tsp tumeric
  • 2 tsp ground ginger
  • 6 tbsp dark soy sauce
  • 4 tbsp white wine vinegar
  • Black pepper to taste
  • 8 boneless, skinless chicken thighs or drumsticks (although, to be honest, the marinade mix can¬†probably¬†accommodate twice this much chicken)

Mix together the spices, soy sauce and vinegar. Add the chicken and allow to marinate for 2-3 hours, or overnight if possible.

When ready to cook, place on parchment-lined baking tray and place in a preheated oven (200*C/fan 180*C) for 30-35 minutes, or until the edges have a tiny bit of charing.

Basic Egg-Fried Rice

(Free on EE)

Meanwhile, the rice is a recipe my own creation. But the main secret is simply spraying Frylight until my arm hurts (does that count as Body Magic?) I make the rice quite often, and luckily hubby loves it too. It’s great with any Chinese-style dish, and the other day I had it for lunch on its own with some steamed broccoli. mmmmm.

Ingredients

  • 150g rice
  • Frylight
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 chicken stock pot
  • Soy sauce

Start by cooking the rice as normal – just don’t let it go gloopy. When it’s done, rinse it under cold water to stop the cooking process and set it aside to drain thoroughly.

While the rice is draining, heat up a wok or large frying pan. Get it really hot and spray with fry light. Add the eggs, stirring briskly so they scramble and break into fairly small pieces.

Spray the pan again with Frylight and add the rice. Stir-fry the rice for a few mintes, regularly adding a few more spritzes of Frylight. Finally, add a splash of soy sauce and the chicken stock pot (if you don’t want it too salty, just use half the stock pot).

That’s it! Although, if you want to add veggies to this, I suggest steaming them first (I do it by putting the veg in a bowl in the microwave with a little bit of water and cooking on high for 4 minutes) and then adding the veg at the end with the soy sauce and stockpot.

With the kale, I just threw it in the wok at the last minute, took the wok off the heat and let it set for a few minutes. I think the steam from the rice was enough to wilt the kale a bit – but I like my kale crunchy.

Leave a Reply

