My story so far

16 Apr

Hi there.

I’ve started this blog because tomorrow begins the first day of my new healthy eating plan. It’s not the first diet I have ever been on, but I am determined it will be my last.

As far back as I can remember, I have been heavy. My first memory of weight being an issue in my life was a trip to the doctor when I was about five or six years old: the doctor mentioned that I was heavy for my age/height, and that has always stuck with me.

I guess I was lucky in school. I don’t think I was ever teased much about being fat, although I do remember my ballet teacher giving me grief. Of course my short legs, unswanlike neck and tendency towards clumsiness probably didn’t help my situation.

By my senior year in high school, my 5′ 4″ frame was flirting with the 200 lb mark, and I was determined to not let myself get any heavier. Of course, I didn’t do much about it, except think that basing my nutritional intake mainly on smoothies and bagels, like one of my best friends who was a swimmer, was the way to go.

I am now 31 years old and very close to hitting 250 – and I have been here for about seven years.

About four years ago, I started making a concerted effort to learn about nutrition and what makes a good, healthy diet. Then, when my boyfriend popped the question, I knew it was time to start shifting the pounds – and it worked.

Over the course of about eight months, I lost nearly 40 pounds thanks to a combination of daily swimming and a low GI diet through a popular online dieting site.

Unfortunately, once the wedding was over, the pounds came back – most of them within about six months.

This was due to a combination of factors – several months working from home, rarely getting out of my pjs, regularly concocting sugary snacks and boredom eating. Plus, due to a move, I was no longer able to get to a swimming pool.

Basically, I let myself down – and the path to a slim physique is a very slippery slope.

Over the last couple years, I have tried a few things on and off to shift the weight, including going back to the GI plan that worked so well before. But I just can’t get myself to stick with it.

Ali diet pills didn’t really do the trick, mainly because my problem is carbs, not fat.

The Dukan Diet worked for a while, but I realised that I would have to stay on the first stage for over a year. That did not sound like a healthy way to live for so long, plus I started suffering from digestive issues. I won’t go into details, but three weeks of very little fibre took its toll and I had to stop.

Since then, I have simply tried to eat healthy foods and do exercise regularly.

After another move, I am once again living near a swimming pool and I try to go for a 1 or 2k swim three times a week.

In addition, I am starting with Slimming World meetings tomorrow. They say the personal interaction can be the key to success, and I do think having someone to ‘report’ to could make a real difference.

I did a proper grocery shop over the weekend, after learning the basics of the SW plan, and have tried to eat within those boundaries for the last two days. However, since I don’t know how it all works exactly, I’m sure I’ve probably done a few things wrong.

Oh and that piece of shortbread at work this afternoon probably didn’t fit into the plan.

I’m hoping SW will work for me because it allows a lot more freedom than other plans. Plus I can see myself treating it as a lifestyle choice, rather than a diet.

However, I am concerned that it may not work because my biggest problem, I think, is portion size and I’m not fully convinced that SW will be able to help me there.

Of course, I also have this blog, which I will be sprucing up over the next few days. Maybe I can even gain a couple of followers to cheer me on. πŸ™‚

So, here it goes. Wish me luck!

2 Responses to “My story so far”

  1. Missjlouise May 1, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

    It is a lifestyle choice and the portion size should not be a problem especially if you are doing Extra Easy as 1/3 of your plate will be fruit of veg! It really does work! Its an eating plan so naturally it requires some self control but it is VERY realistic and can be done for the rest of your life, even when you are pregnant! You have made a good choice πŸ™‚

    Congratulations on getting married btw πŸ™‚

    • shannonagains May 2, 2012 at 7:38 am #

      Thanks for the comment. I def agree that I have made the best choice – and I’m glad this will be changing the way I eat for the better forever!

Leave a Reply

